3 in 4: My Trip to Malaysia – Part 4

27 08 2014

For part 1, click here: 3 in 4: My Trip to Malaysia – Part 1
For part 2, click here: 3 in 4: My Trip to Malaysia – Part 2
For part 3, click here: 3 in 4: My Trip to Malaysia – Part 3

We took a cab from T.B.S. in Kuala Lumpur to Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang. We got there around 6 p.m. so we were able to check-in to our room right away. We booked our rooms in all 3 hotels for the 3 nights we were staying in Malaysia in advance via Agoda.com so they were all reserved and paid for by the time we got there, and we only had to pay deposits (either RM50 or RM100) upon checking-in.  We were given a room on the 2nd floor, which is okay, although it was a little dark and stuffy.

I have to say, that after such a good experience in The Explorer Hotel in Malacca, we were really disappointed with Sky Hotel. The price of the rooms isn’t that high, but the all-around atmosphere in this hotel wasn’t very good. The receptionist was rude, the halls were poorly lit and when we asked for extra towels, they wouldn’t give us any, not even for an additional charge. :-/ It’s a good thing that my friend and I brought our own towels albeit they’re travel towels so they’re smaller and quite inconvenient.

The only thing that this hotel has going for it, in my opinion, is its location. It only took us a few steps from the lobby to a pretty good shopping mall where we decided to have dinner, Low Yat Plaza.

In the Low Yat Plaza food court, we found a Peranakan restaurant, which I think is lucky, because we missed out on Peranakan food in Malacca. We ordered so many dishes, I’m quite sure they were surprised that 4 little girls could eat that much. 😛 I’m really glad that my friends are adventurous when it comes to food. For me, eating local dishes is such a big part of traveling that I’m usually disappointed when we have to eat at McDonald’s and the like when we’re in a different place, especially a different country. Although I will acknowledge that it is necessary, as eating at McDonald’s is one of the easiest ways to save money when you’re traveling, and anyway, McDonald’s offers their food with a local twist so it can still be an experience to eat there.

Unfortunately, adventurous as we were, I can no longer remember the names of the dishes we ordered. But I was able to take a few pictures of them. And I remember that they were all delicious. 😀

PhotoGrid_1408962051499

After dinner, we decided to have coffee at OldTown White Coffee, a coffee shop franchise in Malaysia that we’d seen in all the cities we went to, but had only had time to try that night. I don’t need to tell you what drinks we ordered, we ordered different drinks each and they all tasted delicious, so I think it’s safe to say that their coffee is really good. 🙂 Also, the free WiFi in this cafe was faster than the WiFi in the hotel. So we actually stayed there for a bit.

On our last day in Malaysia, we woke up really really early (Jc woke up at 2:45AM!) so we could get to the Petronas Twin Towers before anyone else. We had the hotel’s service take us and we got to the twin towers at 5 AM. Everything was still closed so we hung out for a bit around the front of the building where the water fountains are. They were still off. To kill time, we took some photos.

p20140812-054644p20140812-055806

We went there as early as we did because we knew that the line to get the tickets would be long. People started lining up at 6 AM even though they only opened the ticket window at 8 AM and the first group would be allowed to go up only at 9 AM. But we were already expecting this long wait so none of us complained or anything, and there was a convenient store nearby so my friends were able to get coffee.

Eventually the clock turned 9 and we were finally able to go up one of the towers and take photos on the bridge that connected the two buildings. We were also allowed on the 86th floor where there’s an observatory as well as a miniature of the towers and other kinds of displays that give information about this landmark. They were interesting to see and we were there for the maximum amount of time we were allowed to be there.

IMG_2858

Before leaving, I bought a postcard for RM1 and a stamp for RM0.50. I was supposed to send it to my sister but after having lunch at KLCC and then shopping for souvenirs, I no longer had time to write on the postcard, let alone drop it in a post box. So, I still have that postcard to this day, and I guess it’ll function as my own souvenir. 😉

Speaking of KLCC, after having a quick lunch at the food court, we went to the grocery store Cold Storage and that’s where we bought most of our pasalubong for our families, other friends and officemates. It actually felt a bit strange because this was the first time that the four of us traveled together and we realized only then that it was the first time we didn’t have to buy souvenirs for the other three. 😛 Haha!

We bought chocolates, milk tea, coffee, and local snacks. We got back to Sky Hotel just in time to check-out at noon. (Well, 12:30. We were 30 mins late for check-out time. Sorry na! ^^’ )

Our flight wasn’t until 6:30 PM so we actually had a bit of time left before we needed to go to the airport. We all agreed that there were still plenty of people in our lives we needed to buy pasalubong for so we decided to go to the mall Sungei Wang, which is also walking distance from our hotel. We were able to buy everything else we needed (keychains and the like) and actually made it to the airport with ample time to check-in to our flight. Getting to the gate, though, is another story.

Long story short: The plane almost left us. O_o I blame it on the deliciousness of Baskin Robbins ice cream. Oh, well. I have no regrets. 😉

Our plane arrived on time in Manila and that’s it! Home!

I really truly very much enjoyed my trip to Malaysia, not just because I loved all the places we went to and we were able to maximize the little time we had there (in my opinion), but also because we didn’t encounter many difficulties. I’m really happy that my first trip abroad with my best friends from when I was less than 10 years old (Seriously! Ji and I met in Kindergarten, Jz the year after that, and Jc, we became friends with in the 3rd grade) was a smashing success. 😀 We didn’t fight over where to go or what time to sleep and everyone was amiable the whole time. Although I always travel with friends or family, I know how much stress it is to travel with a group because different people want/like different things, so I’m very much grateful that I was blessed with positive, cheerful and extremely patient friends. Hopefully this will be the first of many trips we take, abroad or otherwise. 🙂


Useful Links:

Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang – our accommodation in Kuala Lumpur
Petronas Twin Towers – for more information on this landmark
Sungei Wang Plaza – where we bought pasalubong


Actions

Information

3 responses

27 08 2014
3 in 4: My Trip to Malaysia – Part 3 | the life less traveled by

[…] Read about our experience in Kuala Lumpur in Part 4! […]

5 09 2014
kaineSs

wala rin talagang ibang makita sa KL no? twice ko na siya binabalikan but after Petronas.. parang blaaah. haha! or baka ako lang..

5 09 2014
happylittlegirl

Actually may mga ni-list si Ji na points of interest (e.g. KL Tower, Merdeka Square, etc.) but after Malacca and Petronas parang di na kami interesado sa historical buildings gaano and, you know, shopping! 😛

Leave a comment